Sign reads: "Known as Place d'Armes from around A.D. 1768, it was renamed Columbus Square in 1893 in honour of the discover of the New World. The court house and the market were formerly located here. About 1838 Governor Sir Dudley Hill had it planted with ornamental trees (note the old saman tree). Measurements E-W 336 fee, N-S 292 feet."
Welch, Claude Emerson
State University of New York at Buffalo
Use for educational purposes only. Single copies (print, photocopy, download) are permitted for personal study, research and teaching.
Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)
Is Part Of
Welch, Claude Emerson, “Columbus Square,” Digital Collections - University at Buffalo Libraries, accessed January 19, 2019, https://ubdigit.buffalo.edu/items/show/89786.